Holi Hai(cks) !

Hello everyone!

Firstly, sorry for the headline pun ( I am usually bad with them, but my friends and family love my bad puns. LOL) . Secondly, HAPPY HOLI!!  I remember as a kid, I used to play like crazy with my cousins and that child is still alive in me. The vibrant colours, running after your friends/family members to smear the colours on their face, gorging on Indian sweets and last but not the least, the tired and peaceful nap post Holi, everything about this festival calls out to me.

lrm_export_309530324055933_20190321_104748761.jpeg

So, today I am going to pen down a few Holi hacks which work miraculously for me.

Disclaimer: If you’re one of those who put only dots of colour on each other for the sake of clicking pictures (like I did for my blog post), then this post is useless for you. But if you’re like me who plays with everything; starting from ‘gulaal’ to eggs, then read on!

ONE. Before applying anything on your face, rub an ice cube all over it for about 10 minutes in order to close the open pores. Doing this will not only protect your skin from the harsh chemicals but also keep acne and other skin breakouts away.

TWO. Apply a thick layer of coconut/olive oil all over your your body including your face and private areas. This will help get rid of the colours faster and will also prevent your skin from drying up too much.

prarthana.jpg

THREE. Apply SPF all over the exposed areas to avoid harsh tan lines.This is one of the most important pre-Holi skin care tips as most of us forget to apply sunscreen before going out in the open to play Holi, and just rely on moisturiser. Apply it 30 minutes prior playing.

FOUR. Oil and tie your hair up in a tight braid or a bun. This would prevent your locks from drying up and will not give rise to split ends. (Please do not keep your hair open while playing Holi, like Deepika Padukone in Balam Pichkari, unless you can afford her hair stylist and salon!). 😛

tumblr_mrgabfahnq1qlfyq8o1_500 Source:Tumblr

FIVE. As for your lips, petroleum jelly or Vaseline is a much better alternative as compared to lip balms, given they are thicker and stay on for a longer duration.

SIX. Save your beautiful nails from turning pink-purple and your cuticles from drying up by applying a thick coat of dark nail paint.

LRM_EXPORT_311388047090835_20190321_111847404

SEVEN. Move over shorts for Holi wear (also à la Balam Pichkari). It takes weeks to get all that colour off your legs and it’s just not worth the effort! Wear a pair of black skinny jeggings/leggings with a kurti/loose top for a comfortable casual look.

EIGHT. While washing the colours off your hair, use a good conditioner or hair mask and leave it on for a while longer before washing. Let your hair dry naturally and do not use heating tools on your hair immediately.

That’s all for today! To absolutely prevent colours from holding onto your skin and hair is close to impossible. But I assure you that, following these tips shall at least ensure that no or minimum harm is done to them.

LRM_EXPORT_309299431238297_20190321_104357869

Above all, keep drinking loads of water while playing to keep your skin hydrated!!

HAPPHOLI!

Follow me on Instagram to see how I played holi with my favourite people on my Instagram stories. I will be uploading the “real” pictures of my Holi celebration soon (not for the sake of pictures lol. )

Let me know if you have some more hacks!

XOXO.

2 thoughts on “Holi Hai(cks) !

Leave a comment